Flowering almond (Prunus glandulosa) and some Ume love

Ume (Prunus Mume) is my favorite bonsai species, but there are plenty of other tree’s in the prunus family that need some love to. I got this flowering almond a few springs ago and it has made great strides tward becoming a cute little bonsai. It’s will be going in a nice pot this spring and then styled. Here’s when I first got it and cut it back just to the trunk. As you can also see in the background I was still building my benches at the time too.

IMG_0031

Here it is mid summer-Right after this I pruned it again to remove branches I didn’t need or to many coming from one spot.

IMG_2726_zps4892b47e

After that it was pretty much left alone and fertilized and watered well. Here it is with it’s winter image before I cleaned it up a bit. As you can see it has yet to be styled as I just wanted it to recover and have plenty of branches to work with,

1228141318

The branch structure is not to bad for 2 seasons and come spring this will be cover in small pale pink flowers. you can see the branch right below this one that has since been removed. The one thing you have to love about almonds is the back bud very easily and ridiculously.

1228141324

lots of new buds

1228141322

Here’s something that will get mixed views on. The base on this guy. It has two aerial roots. I personally like the look, as it pretty unique and I think goes well with the tree.  The other issue is if I remove these roots there will be slight reverse taper due to where they come off the trunk. So I’m pretty happy with the way it is. Are you?

1228141319

Here it is after clean up and ready for spring to flower and then a repot in a nice blue/green round pot I think. It still has a way to go but none the less it’s a fun little shohin.

1228141334

1228141334a

didnt I say some Ume love? While most of the 30 or so buds are still developing this guy is way ahead of the game.

1228141334e

This entry was posted in Flowering and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flowering almond (Prunus glandulosa) and some Ume love

  1. Kyle says:

    I am going to have to get an ume. Koreans call them “Mae Shil Namu” and I have a local source. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Like

Leave a Reply

