Yamadori Hunt Spring 2015

The great hunt for yamadori this year went great. It was a climbing adventure and without further ado, the pictures!

Day 1

The first thing I ran into was this amazing waterfall! It was cold and refreshing(I didn’t drink it though)

0410151424 Some of the cliffs that I went snooping around.0410151443

These two where candidates but the roots where close to 10′ before it went into the mountain-Scrub pines

0410151702

0411151145a

Eastern white pine growing in a random pocket of a rock. I could have lifted it up with one hand but there where no close branches and it was best left where it was

IMG_0782

Slightly dazed and confused….

IMG_0777

At the top ,taking a breather.

IMG_0781IMG_0749

At the end of the day I found an eastern hemlock that is rather fantastic and it’s 51 years old. Was growing on top of a rock and had many fine roots and 3 tap roots, so collection was ez and has a great chance of survival.

IMG_0754

Day 2

I was a little more daring and climbed up some cliffs that are rather precarious, but I saw some excellent tree’s that were requiring my attention. It is a rather full and vigorous scrub pine that was the first pine I collect on the trip.

IMG_0773 IMG_0769

The next cliff was much higher and had lots of pockets to explore. I found a rather old tree,(scrub pine) growing in a small cliff that looked like it had a hard life. The only problem is it was a couple hundred feet up and took a while to get up safely, let alone bring the larger tree down again.

Another issue, is there was lots of caves and poop that either belonged to a bear or mountain lion. We didn’t see anything but I kept my eyes out

IMG_0759

Can you find me in this picture?

IMG_0761

Little closer….

IMG_0763

Closer still…

IMG_0774

At the ledge standing on a nearby rock, see something poking out?

IMG_0766

Where the old pine sat.

IMG_0764

Done for the day, due to exhaustion, and getting late I spotted one more that seemed to wanted to come home with me.

IMG_0756

Now…..Wait….

where are these tree’s from this trip? Patience young padawan. I’ll be doing another post very soon that go into full detail on the 3 scrub pines and hemlock I got from this trip.

This entry was posted in Adventure and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

